عام

بليكسودوس

الحركة الأمريكية السوداء من الحرية إلى القيادة والازدهار

 

 

يوم جديد

ماذا لو أخبرك شخص ما أن موسى على قيد الحياة فيالقرن ال21؟ وأيضا... انها أسود؟

 

في الواقع ، موسى هو مجموعة من النساء والرجال السود الذين يسيرون في أمريكا السوداء خارج مصر. قد ترفض التلميح إلى أن السود هم "شعب مختار" كخطابة. إلى جانب ذلك، مصر على الجانب الآخر من العالم!

 

إذا كنت أسود وتقرأ هذا ، فقد يواجه جزء منك على الأقل تلميحا من الإثارة. ويرجع ذلك إلى أن قرنا ونصف القرن بعد العبودية، ومواجهة المشاعر المعادية للسود والاعتقاد المنحرف حول السود يمثل مصر التي يتم تجاوزها والبحر الأحمر الذي يتم عبوره. ما قدمه موسى لإخراج اليهود القدماء من 400 عام من الاضطهاد كان هوية جماعية طموحة بقوة. وبالمثل ، مع مرور أغسطس 2019 على مرور 400 عام على تسجيل أول 20 أفريقيا في أمريكا ، هناك حركة صاعدة لإعادة تعريف وتمكين المجتمع الأمريكي الأفريقي.

 

يطلق عليه " تأطير الأصول" - تعريف الناس ليس من خلال احتياجاتهم أو تحدياتهم ولكن من خلال نقاط قوتهم وتطلعاتهم. للاحتفال بمرور 400 عام على التاريخ ، قام ترابيان شورترز ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة BMe (وهي شبكة زمالة حائزة على جوائز من المبتكرين والقادة والأبطال الذين يستثمرون في المجتمعات الطموحة) بتنظيم طليعة وطنية من الرجال السود و (كإضافة حلوة للبرنامج) النساء اللواتي يقدن منظمات مثل Focus: HOPE لإطلاق حملة من أجل " السرد التالي لأمريكا السوداء".

 

سرد جديد

كل ما هو رائع في مجتمع السود هو على مرأى من الجميع ، ولكن للتعرف عليه ، يعيد الناس تدريب أنفسهم على النظر إلى ما وراء ما تقدمه وسائل الإعلام والكتب المدرسية وحتى المجتمع غير الربحي. كل منا يدرك بشكل مؤلم الإحصائيات المهينة والمضللة ولكن الشائعة جدا: يتخرج السود من المدرسة الثانوية بمعدلات أقل ، ويذهبون إلى السجن بمعدلات أعلى ، وهم فقراء بشكل غير متناسب و "معرضون للخطر". في حين يجب على هذا البلد معالجة التفاوتات النظامية التي تعاني منها أمريكا السوداء نتيجة للعنصرية ، فإن الأمريكيين السود بمساعدة هذه الحملة الجديدة يميلون إلى شعور أكثر قوة وأكثر دقة بالذات.

 

على الرغم من العنصرية الهيكلية ، فإن مجتمع السود يدرك أكثر فأكثر مكانته كرائد في المجالات الأكثر أهمية للإنتاجية. على سبيل المثال، السود وطنيون بشكل استثنائي، ويخدمون بمعدلات عالية جدا في القوات المسلحة الأمريكية. النساء السود يحصلن على شهادات جامعية بأعلى معدل في البلاد. أكثر من 1 من كل 5 رجال سود وصلوا إلى الثلث الأعلى من توزيع الدخل في المقاطعة. الرجال السود هم الآباء الأكثر مشاركة بنشاط في البلاد ويعطي مجتمع السود بسخاء نسبة أعلى من دخله للقضايا الخيرية من أي مجموعة أخرى. وهذا يعني أنه بالإضافة إلى المساهمات في الثقافة والمجتمع التي يقدمها ما يسمى بالنجوم السود الاستثنائيين ورجال الأعمال والسياسيين والرياضيين، فإن السود يقودون الأمة في الواقع على نطاق سكاني.

 

من المهم لمنظمات مثل Focus: HOPE أن تشير إلى ذلك لأن المنظمات غير الربحية تديم الروايات المضادة المدمرة. لكن شورترز يكتب "لا يمكنك رفع الناس عن طريق وضعهم". ويشير إلى أنه في الواقع ، "يشير العلم المعرفي والدراسات الطولية بقوة ... إن تعريف الناس باستمرار بعبارات مهينة هو إحدى الطرق التي تصبح بها الروايات العنصرية مؤسسية وجزءا من الثقافة ". بدلا من ذلك ، تثبت بعض المنظمات غير الربحية أن الحديث عن الناس وفقا لتطلعاتهم بدلا من تحدياتهم يضعهم في وضع يسمح لهم بالنجاح ويجمع المزيد من المال.

 

الفنون ووسائل الإعلام تتغير أيضا. يتم الاعتراف علنا بالمرأة السوداء لقيادتها في التقدم الأمريكي. أفلام مثل Get Out (دفع السود نحو الوعي الكامل) و Black Panther (مما يشير إلى أن الوقت قد حان الآن للسود للكشف عن أسرار التحرر العالمي الموجودة تحت السرد الزائف للعجز) بمثابة دعوات واضحة للقيادة العامة للسود.

 

هوية جديدة

كانت هذه بالضبط عبقرية الخروج اليهودي. من خلال حملة منسقة، نجح موسى وفرقته من الأبطال والبطلات في الترويج لرواية جديدة عززت الشجاعة لتدوين وجود مستقبلي. ولدت مجموعة من القيم التي ساعدت في نهاية المطاف على تشكيل العصور الزراعية والصناعية. مع تحرك العالم بشكل أعمق في العصر الرقمي ، فإن النضال الأسود من أجل الازدهار سوف يوجه بلا شك الطريقة التي يتم بها تخيل الحياة واتخاذ القرارات في المجتمع الأمريكي.

 

عقود آجلة جديدة

لا يمكن إنكار الأساليب غير الأنانية والفعالة التي أحدث بها السود التغيير في هذا البلد منذ الوقت الذي وصل فيه القلائل الأوائل المستعبدين قبل 4 قرون. لذلك يجب على أمريكا أن تضبط أي شكل من أشكال القضيب المبارك أو الاهتزاز الذي يجلبه مجتمع السود عند ظهورهذا العام ال 400 من التاريخ الأمريكي الموثق. من الحركات العمالية إلى LGBTQIA + ونضالات النساء ، كانت طلائع الحركات الاجتماعية في أمريكا دائما تتألف إلى حد كبير من السود. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يزال هناك عمل يتعين القيام به لتحقيق العدالة الكاملة للسود في الولايات المتحدة ، إلا أنه يجب أن نضع في اعتبارنا عندما ننظر إلى ما وراء الروايات غير المكتملة والمضللة حول الانكسار لرؤية مجتمع السود في سياق تقدمه وتطلعاته وإمكانياته ، فمن الواضح أن القصة الحقيقية لأمريكا السوداء بدأت للتو وأنها تخلق مستقبلا جديدا ليس فقط لنفسها ولكن أيضا أيضا للعالم من حوله. والأكثر من ذلك، أن النساء والرجال السود يقودون الحركة معا.

 

جاسان م. لارسوسا هو مدير الدعوة والإنصاف وتمكين المجتمع ، ويعمل تحت إشراف بورتيا روبرسون ، الرئيس التنفيذي المعين حديثا لشركة Focus: HOPE.  الرؤى الواردة في هذا التحليل هي جزء من سلسلة تعليمية مستمرة تم إطلاقها في يوم MLK في Focus: HOPE.  ابحث عن مزيد من التحليل مع مزيد من الأفكار حول تعطيل العنصرية من السيد لارسوسا.

العودة إلى الأمل تتحدث

CommunityOp Ed

BLEXodus

By July 23, 2019 No Comments

The Black American Movement from Freedom to Leadership & Prosperity

 

 

New Day

What if someone were to tell you Moses is alive in the 21st century? And also… she’s Black?

 

Indeed, Moses is a group of Black women and men marching Black America out of Egypt. You might dismiss as rhetoric the insinuation that Blacks are a “chosen people”. Besides, Egypt is on the other side of the world!

 

If you are Black and reading this, at least part of you might experience a hint of excitement. This is because a century and a half post-slavery, confronting Anti-Black sentiment and a skewed belief about Blacks represent Egypt being outpaced and a Red Sea being crossed. What Moses provided to bring the Ancient Jews out of 400 years of oppression was a powerfully aspirational collective identity. Similarly, with August 2019 marking 400 years since the first 20 Africans were recorded in America, there is a rising movement to redefine and empower the African American community.

 

It’s called “asset framing”—defining people not by their needs or challenges but by their strengths and aspirations. To commemorate 400 years of history, Trabian Shorters, CEO of BMe (an award-winning fellowship network of innovators, leaders, and champions who invest in aspiring communities) has organized a national Vanguard of Black men and (as a sweet addition to the program) women who are leading organizations like Focus: HOPE to launch a campaign for “the Next Narrative of Black America”.

 

New Narrative

All that’s remarkable about the Black community is in plain view, but to recognize it, people are retraining themselves to look beyond what’s presented by media, textbooks and even the nonprofit community. We are each painfully aware of the demeaning and mischaracterizing but all-too-common go-to stats: Black people graduate high school at lower rates, go to prison at higher rates, and are disproportionately poor and “at-risk”. While this country must remedy the systemic disparities experienced within Black America as a result of racism, Black Americans with the help of this new campaign are leaning into a more powerful and more accurate sense of self.

 

In spite of structural racism, the Black community is realizing more and more its position as a forerunner in the most critical areas of productivity. For instance, Blacks are exceptionally patriotic, serving at significantly high rates in the U.S. armed forces; Black women earn college degrees at the highest rate in the country; more than 1 in 5 Black men have made it to the top third of the county’s income distribution; Black men are the most actively involved fathers in the nation and the Black community generously gives a higher percentage of its income to charitable causes than any other group. This means on top of the contributions to culture and society made by so-called exceptional Black superstars, entrepreneurs, politicians and athletes, Blacks are in fact leading the nation at a population scale.

 

It is important for organizations like Focus: HOPE to point this out since nonprofits notoriously perpetuate devastating counter-narratives. But Shorters writes “you can’t lift people up by putting them down”. He points out that in fact, “cognitive science and longitudinal studies strongly suggest… consistently defining people in denigrating terms is one way that racist narratives become institutionalized and part of the culture”. Instead, some nonprofits are proving that talking about people according to their aspirations rather than their challenges both positions them for success and raises more money.

 

Arts and media are shifting as well. The Black woman is being publically recognized for her leadership in American advancement. Movies like Get Out (pushing Blacks toward full consciousness) and Black Panther (which suggests the time is now for Blacks to unveil the secrets for universal liberation which exist beneath the false narrative of deficit) serve as clarion calls for general Black leadership.

 

New Identity

This was precisely the genius of the Jewish Exodus. Through a coordinated campaign, Moses and his band of heroes and heroines were successful in promoting a new narrative that fostered the courage for codifying a future existence. It gave birth to a set of values that ultimately helped to shape the Agrarian and Industrial Ages. As the world moves deeper into the Digital Era, the Black Struggle for prosperity will undoubtedly inform the way life is imagined and decisions are made in American society.

 

New Futures

The selfless and effective methods by which Blacks have brought about change in this country from the time the first few arrived enslaved 4 centuries ago are undeniable. America should, therefore, tune in to whatever form of blessed rod or vibranium the Black community brings about at the emergence of this 400th year of documented American history. From workers’ movements to LGBTQIA+ and women’s struggles, the vanguards of social movements in America have always been largely comprised of Black people. And while to be sure, there remains work to be done for achieving full equity for Blacks in the United States, we should keep in mind when we look past the incomplete and misleading narratives about brokenness to see the Black community within the context of its progress, aspirations, and possibilities, it’s evident the true story of Black America is only beginning and that it is creating a new future not only for itself but also for the world around it. And what’s more, Black women and men are steering the movement together.

 

Jasahn M. Larsosa is Director of Advocacy, Equity & Community Empowerment, serving under Portia Roberson, the newly appointed CEO of Focus: HOPE.  The insights in this analysis are part of an ongoing education series launched on MLK Day at Focus: HOPE.  Look for more analysis with further insights on disrupting racism from Mr. Larsosa.

X